Minutes of the Board of Education of Independent School District No. 630. Red Lake Falls, MN.

The Board of Education held their regular board meeting on Wednesday, July 18, 2018 in the Lafayette Media Center. Members present: Wayne Hanson, Brad Johnson, Andy Knott, Linda Schultz, Mike Swendra, Lacey Konickson and ex officio Superintendent Guetter. Members absent: Reed Engelstad. Also in attendance were Principal Brad Kennett, Principal Chris Bjerklie and Linda Johnston. The meeting was called to order 6:00 p.m. Visitors Comments: none.

Knott moved, Johnson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to modify the July 18, 2018 agenda adding under J. Contracts- addition of Madison Wahlberg and Brooklyn Anderson as 5th grade teachers at J.A. Hughes Elementary School and Kathy Murphy as high school cook.

Schultz moved, Johnson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the June 20, 2018 regular meeting. MC

Knott moved, Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the money transfers, the total Payroll and other EFT transfers in the amount of \$853,122.51, the Treasurer's Report \$1,947,468.20, the Student Activity Account \$94,294.71 and approve the payment of checks 67691-67802 in the amount of \$307,821.26 for claims submitted and properly approved by the board. MC

Johnson moved, Konickson seconded the following RESOLUTION:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the period for filing affidavits of candidacy for the office of school board members of Independent School District No. 630 shall begin on July 31, 2018 and shall close at 5:00 o'clock p.m. on August 14, 2018. The general election shall be held on Tuesday, November 6, 2018. At that election four (4) members will be elected to the School Board for terms of four (4) years each.

Affidavits of Candidacy are available from the school district clerk, Lafayette High School, 404 Champagne Ave. SW, Red Lake Falls, MN 56750. The filing fee for this office is \$2. A candidate for this office must be an eligible voter, must be 21 years of age or more on assuming office, must have been a resident of the school district for (30) days before the general election, and must have no other affidavit on file for any other office at the same primary or next ensuing general election.

The affidavits of candidacy must be filed in the office of the school district clerk and the filing fee paid prior to 5:00 o'clock p.m. on August 14, 2018. All in favor: Johnston, Konickson, Hanson, Knott, Schultz, Swendra. Against: none.

Knott moved, Konickson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to award the bid for milk products to Land 'O Lakes for the 2018-2019 school year. MC

Schultz moved, Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to schedule the truth and taxation meeting for Wednesday, December 19, 2018. MC

Knott moved, Konickson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to designate the following people. Pam Page, Cindy Ducharme, and Jim Guetter as authorized signing officers for the MSDLAF and related accounts for the 2018-2019 fiscal year. MC

Schultz moved, Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to name Superintendent James Guetter as the hearing officer to hear appeals on eligibility for free and reduced priced meals for the 2018-2019 school year. MC

Knott moved, Schultz seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to continue with an offer vs serve lunch program for district students for the 2018-2019 school year. MC

Johnson moved, Konickson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the changes in the JA Hughes and Lafayette Student Handbooks as presented. MC

Knott moved, Johnston seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to accept the resignation of Arianna Paulson as the 5th grade teacher at J.A. Hughes Elementary School. MC

Johnston moved, Knott seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to accept the resignation of Paul Waldal as a school bus driver. MC

Johnson moved, Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve filling the current vacancy and the hiring of another (2) 5th grade teachers due to class sizes of 30 and student needs in the grade level. MC

Schultz moved, Knott seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the contract for Madison Wahlberg as 5th grade teacher at J.A. Hughes Elementary School. MC

Konickson moved, Knott seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the contract for Brooklyn Anderson as 5th grade teacher at J.A. Hughes Elementary School. MC

Johnson moved, Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to hire Kathy Murphy cook at Lafayette High School. MC

Johnston moved, Schultz seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the contract for Erin Christianson as English teacher at Lafayette High School. MC

Schultz moved, Knott seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the contracts of Kris Kennett and Andrea Remick as Co-Senior Class Advisors, MC

Johnston moved, Schultz seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the classified staff contracts as listed. MC

Hanson moved, Knott seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to accept the donation from the Kathleen Amiot family in the amount of \$250 to purchase library books. MC

Knott moved, Johnson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the 2018 Policy updates and Policy 722 as presented. MC

Johnson moved, Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the purchase of CPM math curriculum for 7^{th} & 8^{th} grade as presented. MC

Schultz moved, Konickson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the 2018-2028 Long Term Facilities Management Plan as presented. In favor: Hanson, Johnson, Knott, Konickson, Schultz, and Swendra. Against: None MC

Principals Reports- Principal Kennett discussed SHIP grants; fall workshops, fall assessments. Principal Bjerklie discussed the Read Well Grant, the Healthy Eating Grant and that the reading material has arrived.

Superintendent Guetter gave his report.

| Hanson moved, Knott seconded the following motion: | BE IT RESOLVED to adjourn the meeting at 7:23 p.m. \ensuremath{MC} |
|--|--|
| | |
| Mike Swendra, Chairman | Reed Engelstad, Clerk |